See also

Not found what you wanted?

You can find more information resources in the list of Reference Works, e.g.
Stahlschlüssel

More Databases

DBIS (Datenbank-Infosystem) provides information on more than 9000 scientific databases, 3300 of which are freely accessible. Databases can be searched by keyword, research area, geographic area and type of database. This service is only available in German.

Databases

CABI OPEN DATABASE 

CABI is a not-for-profit organization specializing in scientific publishing, research, and communication. The two databases CAB Abstracts and Global Health are accessible via CAB Direct.

CAB Abstracts is one of the largest bibliographic databases covering international research and development literature (1910 to present) from disciplines such as agriculture, animal and veterinary sciences, environmental sciences, human health, food & nutrition, microbiology and parasitology or plant sciences.
CAB Abstracts indexes literature published in more than 50 languages from more than 150 countries. From January 1, 2009, CAB Abstracts includes all of CABI's full text content.

Global Health provides international coverage of all aspects of public health at both the international and the community level (1912-present) including disciplines such as bacterial, viral and prion diseases, mycology, parasitology, disease vectors, zoonotic diseases, nutrition and food safety, medicinal plants, toxicology, social science and health service, community and public health practice, policy, and economics, environmental and rural health, occupational health or sexual and reproductive health.

CCDC - WebCSD OPEN DATABASE 

The Cambridge Crystallographic Data Centre (CCDC) and FIZ Karlsruhe offer the free service Access Structures via their WebCSD portal to view and retrieve structures from their crystallographic databases CSD (organic compounds) and ICSD (inorganic compounds). Through Access Structures you can view the data sets in both 2D and 3D, see some basic information about the structures and download individual deposited data-sets.

This free service has its limitations regarding search capabilities offered. Please refer to more detailed information on WebCSD and the free Access Structures service.

For Advanced searches of inorganic structures (ICSD) please use this interface.

Central Discovery Index (CDI) OPEN DATABASE 

Central Discovery Index (CDI) is a multidisciplinary index of scholarly materials. Recorded are electronic books, journal articles and more; depending on the source metadata or full text indexed. The CDI is offered by Ex Libris (via swisscovery) who receive the data from primary and secondary publishers, aggregators and open access collections. In swisscovery, the «Central Discovery Index (CDI)» is used when the search query is performed via the search scope Central Discovery Index (CDI) and additionally also a part of the full search scope swissvovery.

ChemSpider OPEN DATABASE 

ChemSpider is a free chemical database providing fast text and structure search access to over 26 million structures. The database is owned and supported by the Royal Society of Chemistry. It aggregates structures, spectra, properties, suppliers, syntheses, and other information from hundreds of data sources into a single searchable repository with links back to the original data sources. ChemSpider is not just a search engine; it is also a crowdsourcing community for chemists who contribute their data, skills, and knowledge to the curation of the database.

ChemSpider SyntheticPages extends this model of a community curated database to cover reactions, providing quick publication (including the assignment of a DOI), peer review and semantic enhancement of repeatable reactions.

Getting Started with ChemSpider
Introductory Video to ChemSpider

China National Knowledge Infrastructure (CNKI)


China National Knowledge Infrastructure (CNKI) is a comprehensive online resource for accessing China’s intellectual output. It is led by Tsinghua University and encompasses academic journals, dissertations, conference papers, news, and many other resources that put the knowledge of China in the sciences and humanities at your fingertips.

Please contact eresources@lib4ri.ch for access details.

The subsciption includes access to the following databases:

CYFD China Yearbooks
China Yearbooks Full-text Database (CYFD) provides access to authoritative facts and statistics of national and regional significance in the People’s Republic of China. Researchers can search by region, industry, or population segment using key data indicators referring to politics, the economy, science, technology, culture, and education. CYFD is organized into 10 subject series and contains over 2,800 titles in 22,000 volumes, covering 21 industry areas.

CSYD China Statistical Yearbooks
China Statistical Yearbooks Database (CSYD) is the official statistical and census data published by the government of the People’s Republic of China. Yearbooks cover a wide range of economic, social, and environmental topics. The database integrates statistical data search and data mining analysis, and allows users to download customized tables according to selected variables such as regions and time. CSYD offers over 1,000 statistical yearbook titles (approximately 8,400 statistical volumes), including about 150 continuously published statistical yearbooks. Content includes over 1.4 million tables and 13 million indicators.

CDI China Data Insights
China Data Insights (CDI), the newly-improved English version of China Statistical Yearbooks Database (CSYD), integrates multiple functions of statistical data search, data mining analysis, and personal data management. It collects authoritative statistical yearbooks of all Chinese provinces and provides English users with the most comprehensive statistical data of the social development in contemporary China.

CDMD China Doctoral Dissertations & Masters’ Theses
Searchable full-text database of dissertations and theses from Chinese institutions, covering a wide range of subjects. CDMD is organized into 10 subject series and contains over 370,000 doctoral dissertations and over 3.65 million master theses and growing.

CJFD China Academic Journals
China Academic Journals is the most comprehensive, full-text database of Chinese journals in the world. It offers comprehensive access to an impressive range of academic journals in all disciplines from the People’s Republic of China.

Cochrane Library OPEN DATABASE 

The Cochrane Library contains systematic reviews summarising current medical research. It is considered as a reliable source for evidence based medicine. Review summaries in German are also available.

CORE OPEN DATABASE 

CORE aggregates open access research outputs from repositories and journals worldwide and makes them available to the public.

CrossRef metadata OPEN DATABASE 

Established in 2000 by scholarly publishers as an independent, non-profit entity, CrossRef enables researchers to navigate electronic journals, books and other documents across publishers, based on the Digital Object Identifier (DOI).

CrossRef metadata search is particularly helpful to quickly resolve a given DOI and find the corresponding document (eg search for 10.1038/nature09211), and also to find the very DOI associated with a given document (eg search for Cai bottom-up fabrication of graphene).

Please see CrossRef's Help & Example Queries for additional search options.

Current Contents Connect OPEN DATABASE 

Complete tables of contents and bibliographic information from leading scholarly journals and books (1998-present); also includes relevant, evaluated websites and documents.

Access pre-published electronic journal articles and search more than articles with cover-to-cover indexing from the subsequent disciplines:

• Agriculture, Biology & Environmental Sciences
• Social & Behavioral Sciences
• Clinical Medicine
• Life Sciences
• Physical, Chemical & Earth Sciences
• Engineering, Computing & Technology
• Arts & Humanities
• Business Collection
• Electronics & Telecommunications Collection

Note that Current Contents Connect is accessible via Web of Science



 
TEL. +41 58 765 5700  info@lib4ri.ch 

Stephanie Hofmann

t +41 58 765 5032

Dr. Bobby Neuhold

t +41 58 765 5133