See also

Not found what you wanted?

You can find more information resources in the list of Reference Works, e.g.
Aluminium Schlüssel
Dippr Project 801
Stahlschlüssel
Stahlwissen

More Databases

DBIS (Datenbank-Infosystem) provides information on more than 9000 scientific databases, 3300 of which are freely accessible. Databases can be searched by keyword, research area, geographic area and type of database. This service is only available in German.

Databases

Google Books OPEN DATABASE 

Google Books is a service from Google Inc. that searches the full text of books and magazines that Google has scanned, converted to text using optical character recognition, and stored in its digital database.

Searching books with Google Books is analogous to searching websites with «Google Web Search». If a publisher or author has given the permission, a full page is shown allowing to browse within the book and to see more pages. If the book is out of copyright, it is possible to page forward or back to see the full book. Clicking on Search within this book allows you to perform more searches within the selected book.

Note: For an export of the bibliographic details related to a specific book, you need to click on «About this book» and scroll all the way down to «Export Citation».

Google Patents OPEN DATABASE 

Google Patent Search covers the entire collection of US patents issued (approximately 7 million) and over a million patent applications made available by the United States Patent and Trademark Office — USPTO from patents issued since the 1790s through to those issued in the past few months. It does not cover international patents. A full text search and download of patents is possible.

Google Scholar OPEN DATABASE 

Google Scholar uses the Google search engine to enable specific searches for scholarly materials such as articles, theses, books, pre-prints, abstracts and technical reports from broad subject areas. Google Scholar includes full-text search and citation counts. It is useful for broad background searches of scholarly literature and for searching across many disciplines. Google Scholar’s coverage and indexing is a secret. Some publishers do not allow Scholar to crawl their journals. Google Scholar uses crawler and parser programs to collect metadata on publications instead of the metadata provided by publishers and indexing/abstracting services. This results in millions of records with erroneous metadata as well as inflated publication and citation counts. Therefore, citation analysis is unreliable and you should consult Scopus or the Web of Science for this task instead.

GreenFile (EBSCO) OPEN DATABASE 

GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records.



 
TEL. +41 58 765 5700  info@lib4ri.ch 

Stephanie Hofmann

t +41 58 765 5032

Dr. Bobby Neuhold

t +41 58 765 5133