Not found what you wanted?
DBIS (Datenbank-Infosystem) provides information on more than 9000 scientific databases, 3300 of which are freely accessible. Databases can be searched by keyword, research area, geographic area and type of database. This service is only available in German.
AGRICOLA OPEN DATABASE
AGRICOLA (AGRICultural OnLine Access) is a bibliographic database of citations to the agricultural literature created by the US National Agricultural Library (NAL) and its cooperators. This extensive database provides worldwide coverage of primary information sources in
agriculture and related fields. The literature cited is primarily in English, but over one-third of the database comprises citations in Western European, Slavic, Asian, and African languages. Production began in 1970, but the database covers materials in all formats, including printed works from the 15th century.
The database is freely available on the website of the NAL. Within the network of Eawag, Empa, PSI or WSL you may also access AGRICOLA via the OvidSP platform. The latter has the advantage that you can use our link resolver «Lib4RI – Services» to access the full text online or order copies.
AGRIS OPEN DATABASE
AGRIS (International System for Agricultural Science and Technology) is a global public domain database with more than 4 million structured bibliographical records on agricultural science and technology. The database is maintained by FAO, and its content is provided by more than 150 participating institutions.
AGRIS covers the wide range of subjects related to
agriculture, including forestry, aquatic sciences, and fisheries. Its content includes unique grey literature such as unpublished scientific and technical reports, theses, conference papers, government publications, and more.
The database is freely available on the website of the FAO. Within the network of Eawag, Empa, PSI or WSL you may also access AGRIS via the OvidSP platform. The latter has the advantage that you can use our link resolver «Lib4RI – Services» to access the full text online or order copies.
arXiv.org OPEN DATABASE
The arXiv is an archive and distribution server for e-prints in physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance and statistics. It includes more than 600,000 e-prints, with roughly 5,000 new e-prints added every month. In many fields of mathematics and physics, almost all scientific papers are placed on the arXiv. A majority of the manuscripts are also submitted to journals for publication, but some work, including some very influential papers, remain purely as e-prints and are never published in a peer-reviewed journal.
Note that users can register to automatically receive a listing of newly submitted papers in areas of interest to them.
ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library OPEN DATABASE
The ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library is a collection of industry standards and technical engineering information. The database covers a broad range of engineering disciplines, including aerospace, biomedical, chemical, civil, environmental, geological, health and safety, industrial, materials science, mechanical, nuclear, petroleum, soil science, and solar engineering. Users can access ASTM's 12,000+ active standards (plus 12,300 redlined standards and 28,500 historical, and withdrawn standards). The Digital Library also includes nearly every other ASTM publication – that’s 1,500+ books and 60,000+ papers and chapters, dating back to 1932.
Bibliographic references of ASTM standards with links to the full text are also included in the Lib4RI Standards Portal.
Downloads are only available via the link http://enterprise.astm.org/ within the network of Eawag, Empa, PSI & WSL. Avoid using other links, including ASTM Home and links from the ASTM home page. These will land the user on «for purchase» search results.
BASE (Bielefeld Academic Search Engine) OPEN DATABASE
BASE is a multi-disciplinary search engine for academic citations, mostly with linked open-access full-text. It covers more than 25 million documents from more than 1,700 contributing sources. BASE searches open-archive collections worldwide and, additionally, indexes selected web sites and local data collections, all of which can be searched via a single search interface.
BIOSIS Previews OPEN DATABASE
BIOSIS Previews is a bibliographic database for literature searching in biological and biomedical sciences. It indexes about 5,500 life sciences journals, of which about 2,300 are indexed cover to cover. Additionally, 1,500 conference proceedings, review articles, books and U.S. Patents are included. BIOSIS covers medical topics, but tends to focus more on basic research, and its coverage of clinical medicine is not as in depth as in PubMed. BIOSIS is a good resource for finding document types that are not indexed in PubMed, including abstracts of papers presented at meetings, United States patents, books and book chapters. The thorough indexing of major concepts, organisms, taxonomic groups, diseases, genes and geographic locations makes it easy to narrow your search.
Note that BIOSIS can be searched within the Web of Science.
Britannica Image Quest OPEN DATABASE
Britannica Image Quest is an online image library with more than 2.5 million high resolution images from the world’s best image providers, including National Geographic Society, Getty Images and Press Association Images.
All images are rights-cleared for non-commercial, educational use. The images can also be used on websites if the Thistle watermark is not removed and the copyright notice as provided on IQ is given.
The portal is an add-on to the popular Encyclopaedia Britannica Online. Learn more about this new resource in the guided tour or watch the video introduction on YouTube.
CAB Abstracts OPEN DATABASE
We offer access to the CAB Abstracts, which gives researchers instant access to over 7.3 million records* from 1973 onwards, with over 350,000 abstracts added each year. Its coverage of the applied life sciences includes
agriculture, environment, veterinary sciences, applied economics, food science and nutrition.
CAB Abstracts comes with CABI Full Text, which allows an
automatic access to over 187,000 journal articles, conference papers and reports – 80% of which are not available electronically anywhere else.
ChemSpider OPEN DATABASE
ChemSpider is a free chemical database providing fast text and structure search access to over 26 million structures. The database is owned and supported by the Royal Society of Chemistry. It aggregates structures, spectra, properties, suppliers, syntheses, and other information from hundreds of data sources into a single searchable repository with links back to the original data sources. ChemSpider is not just a search engine; it is also a crowdsourcing community for chemists who contribute their data, skills, and knowledge to the curation of the database.
ChemSpider SyntheticPages extends this model of a community curated database to cover reactions, providing quick publication (including the assignment of a DOI), peer review and semantic enhancement of repeatable reactions.
Cochrane Library OPEN DATABASE
CrossRef metadata OPEN DATABASE
Established in 2000 by scholarly publishers as an independent, non-profit entity, CrossRef enables researchers to navigate electronic journals, books and other documents across publishers, based on the Digital Object Identifier (DOI).
CrossRef metadata search is particularly helpful to quickly
resolve a given DOI and find the corresponding document (eg search for 10.1038/nature09211), and also to find the very DOI associated with a given document (eg search for Cai bottom-up fabrication of graphene).
Please see CrossRef's Help & Example Queries for additional search options.
DEPATISnet OPEN DATABASE
The database hosted by the German Patent Office provides access to the full-text of all German patents from 1877 onwards. The website is available in English and German. DEPATISnet also covers other major and several minor patent offices, but not nearly as many countries as esp@cenet.
Note that you can download the full-text images as PDF files, but only page by page.
Derwent Innovations Index OPEN DATABASE
The Derwent Innovations Index searches more than 14 million patent records, many with links to the full-text. Patents are from 40 worldwide patent-issuing authorities including the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office, the European Patent Office and the Japanese Patent Office. Searches retrieve records from 1963 to the present, but coverage varies among patent authorities. Derwent divides patents into 3 broad areas: chemical, electrical & electronics, and engineering. Abstracts of patents are rewritten to make it more apparent whether or not a particular patent would be applicable to your work. In addition, the database contains citing and cited patents and literature references, allowing users to move both forward and backward in time.
Dissertations and Theses: Sciences & Engineering (ProQuest) OPEN DATABASE
The database provides bibliographic information (including abstracts) for 2.7 million dissertations and theses on sciences and engineering from 1861 to the present. ProQuest Dissertations and Theses mainly covers dissertations and theses from North American Institutions plus a growing international coverage.
1.2 million full text dissertations are available for download in PDF format. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works.
DOAJ – Directory of Open Access Journals OPEN DATABASE
DOAJ is an online directory that indexes and provides access to open access, peer-reviewed journals.
The aim of the DOAJ is to increase the visibility and ease of use of open access scientific and scholarly journals, thereby promoting their increased usage and impact. The DOAJ aims to be comprehensive and cover all open access scientific and scholarly journals that use a quality control system to guarantee the content.
Energate Messenger Schweiz OPEN DATABASE
Engineering Source (EBSCO) OPEN DATABASE
Engineering Source offers more than 3,000 full text titles in engineering, computer science and related areas.
Environment Complete (EBSCO) OPEN DATABASE
Environment Complete contains more than 2.4 million records from more than 2,200 domestic and international titles going back to 1888 (including over 1,350 active core titles) as well as more than 190 monographs. The database also contains full text for more than 920 journals.
Esp@cenet OPEN DATABASE
Esp@cenet is the patent database of the European Patent Office. The database contains more than 65 million patent documents from 90 countries (mainly applications rather than granted patents). Coverage is extensive. For example, Swiss patents in facsimile go back to 1888, starting with patent CH1.
ETDE World Energy Base – ETDEWEB OPEN DATABASE
ETDE's Energy Database is a bibliographic database that focuses on environmental aspects of energy production and use, energy policy and planning, as well as the basic sciences that deal with energy research and development. The database is produced by the International Energy Agency (IEA) and contains more than 4 million abstracted and indexed records (reports, journal articles, conference proceedings, books, videos and theses). Temporal coverage is from 1974 to the present day and records are updated twice a month. One of ETDEWEB’s strengths is the direct access to the full text for many of its grey literature records. ETDEWEB has unique access to these reports, which are not available through other sources.
Google Books OPEN DATABASE
Google Books is a service from Google Inc. that searches the full text of books and magazines that Google has scanned, converted to text using optical character recognition, and stored in its digital database.
Searching books with Google Books is analogous to searching websites with «Google Web Search». If a publisher or author has given the permission, a full page is shown allowing to browse within the book and to see more pages. If the book is out of copyright, it is possible to page forward or back to see the full book. Clicking on Search within this book allows you to perform more searches within the selected book.
Note: For an export of the bibliographic details related to a specific book, you need to click on «About this book» and scroll all the way down to «Export Citation».
Google Patents OPEN DATABASE
Google Patent Search covers the entire collection of US patents issued (approximately 7 million) and over a million patent applications made available by the United States Patent and Trademark Office — USPTO from patents issued since the 1790s through to those issued in the past few months. It does not cover international patents. A full text search and download of patents is possible.
Google Scholar OPEN DATABASE
Google Scholar uses the Google search engine to enable specific searches for scholarly materials such as articles, theses, books, pre-prints, abstracts and technical reports from broad subject areas. Google Scholar includes full-text search and citation counts. It is useful for broad background searches of scholarly literature and for searching across many disciplines. Google Scholar’s coverage and indexing is a secret. Some publishers do not allow Scholar to crawl their journals. Google Scholar uses crawler and parser programs to collect metadata on publications instead of the metadata provided by publishers and indexing/abstracting services. This results in millions of records with erroneous metadata as well as inflated publication and citation counts. Therefore, citation analysis is unreliable and you should consult Scopus or the Web of Science for this task instead.
GreenFile (EBSCO) OPEN DATABASE
GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records.
ICONDA®CIBlibrary OPEN DATABASE
The ICONDA®CIBlibrary database is the online repository for CIB and CIB related publications. ICONDA covers worldwide literature in the fields of building construction, construction engineering, architecture, city planning and property.
ICONDA®CIBlibrary is a joint initiative by the International Council for Research and Innovation on Building and Construction (CIB) and Fraunhofer Information Center for Planning and Building IRB.
ICSD – Inorganic Crystal Structure Database OPEN DATABASE
The ICSD contains inorganic crystal structures published since 1913, including their atomic coordinates. In particular, the database provides information on structural data of pure elements, minerals, metals, and intermetallic compounds; structural descriptors (Pearson symbol, ANX formula, Wyckoff sequences); bibliographic data; and synthesis conditions.
The content of ICSD goes through an ongoing re-evaluation and update procedure. Each year around 7,000 new structures are added while the existing content will be modified, complemented or duplicates are removed.
Detailed information on the ICSD may be found in the scientific manual.
IEEE Xplore Digital Library OPEN DATABASE
The IEEE Xplore digital library is a resource for discovery of and access to scientific and technical content published by the IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and its publishing partners. Lib4RI provides access to many IEEE journals, magazines and transactions, IET journals and magazines, proceedings from IEEE and IET annual conferences, IEEE standards, and the backfiles for all titles.
InCites OPEN DATABASE
InCites is a
tool for citation-based research evaluation; besides the actual number of cites it includes the number of expected citations at the level of subject area and journal title in a particular year. To use this database you will need to log in using an existing Thomson Reuters account or register for a new account.
InCites Essential Science Indicator OPEN DATABASE
Essential Science Indicators ranks the top
authors, institutions, countries and journals across 22 broad disciplines using citation data.
InCites Journal Citation Reports (JCR) OPEN DATABASE
“InCites Journal Citation Reports (JCR)” comprises
Journal Impact Factors and other journal metrics for almost 11,000 journals. This new version of the JCR lets you conduct analysis and comparisons of citation relationships across journals and categories over time. The old version of the JCR is still available here.
INIS OPEN DATABASE
The INIS (International Nuclear Information System) database is the leading resource for scientific literature on the peaceful uses of nuclear science and technology, and also includes the environmental and economic aspects of both nuclear and non-nuclear energy sources. The database contains over 3 million bibliographic records (journal articles, scientific and technical reports, conference papers, books, patents, theses, laws, regulations and standards, and web documents) from the 1970s through to the present. Full-text is provided for more than 250,000 documents of the grey literature (scientific and technical reports).
Inspec OPEN DATABASE
Inspec is a comprehensive index to the global journal and proceedings literature from 1969-present in physics, electrical/electronic engineering, computing, control engineering, mechanical engineering, production and manufacturing engineering, and information technology. It includes Inspec Thesaurus, Classification Codes and other specialized search aids. Backfiles are available to 1898.
INSPIRE OPEN DATABASE
CERN, DESY, Fermilab and SLAC have built the next-generation High Energy Physics (HEP) information system, INSPIRE. It combines the successful SPIRES database content, curated at DESY, Fermilab and SLAC, with the Invenio digital library technology developed at CERN. INSPIRE is run by a collaboration of CERN, DESY, Fermilab, IHEP, and SLAC, and interacts closely with HEP publishers, arXiv.org, NASA-ADS, PDG, HEPDATA and other information resources.
Journal Citation Reports
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (EBSCO) OPEN DATABASE
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA) indexes more than 560 core journals, nearly 50 priority journals, and nearly 125 selective journals; plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s.
LIVIVO OPEN DATABASE
LIVIVO is an interdisciplinary search engine for life sciences provided by ZB MED Leibniz Information Centre for Life Sciences.
Scientifically relevant information from the ZB MED subjects fields medicine, health, nutrition, environmental and agricultural sciences is bundled and provided on a standard interface for free research.
Please follow the tab «More Links» below a specific search result to obtain links to the full texts.
More information and help are available here.
MassBank OPEN DATABASE
Material Archiv OPEN DATABASE
Material Archiv is a network of various sample collections taken from architecture, art and design. This joint online database provided by several Swiss institutions contains basic knowledge, examples and applications related to materials such as wood, paper, metal, plastic, stone, glass, ceramics and colorants (German only).
Material Data Center OPEN DATABASE
Material Data Center is an internet platform for Engineering Plastics. Besides material databases it contains an application database and a toolbox with several calculation programs as well as interfaces to different CAE systems. All modules have been developed to help designers of the plastics industry with all material decisions. The Biopolymer database allows access to information about Biopolymer producers, contact persons and material properties, like mechanical properties, permeability, degradation or processing behavior.
A login and password is needed to access the database.
MathSciNet OPEN DATABASE
MathSciNet is a bibliographical database for mathematics, providing references to journal articles, conference reports and books. The over 2.4 million entries go back to the 19th century. The database also contains reviews and summaries. Expert reviewers are selected by a staff of professional mathematicians to write reviews of the current published literature. Over 40,000 reviews are added each year.
Note that authors are uniquely identified, enabling a search for publications by individual authors, even if authors share the same name.
Mendeley OPEN DATABASE
At its most basic level, Mendeley is a free reference management tool, but it can also help with other aspects of research. Another useful feature is the
crowd-sourced database of more than 30M papers. Not only can you search across disciplines, but you can also limit your results to only open access content. If Mendeley does not provide the full-text article, try our link resolver from within Mendeley to get the full text. You can also find popular groups and tags related to a paper, which could reveal a whole collection of research already created around the topic you’re searching.
MethodsNow OPEN DATABASE
MethodsNow is a database by CAS that contains step-by-step instructions for analytical methods from areas such as environmental science, material science and many more. At the moment there are about 2 million methods in the database and the number is steadily growing. Information from MethodsNow on synthesis is directly integrated in SciFinder where you will conveniently find it.
Note that you must first register and create a personal account to use MethodsNow. Please contact InfoServices to obtain a login ID and password. Users who already have a SciFinder account do not have to register.
Training materials for MethodsNow can be found on the CAS Website.
NASA Astrophysics Data System (ADS) OPEN DATABASE
The Astrophysics Data System (ADS) is a bibliographic database operated by the Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory (SAO) under a NASA grant. The ADS maintains three bibliographic databases containing more than 8.7 million records:
Astronomy & Astrophysics, Physics and arXiv e-prints. The main body of data in the ADS consists of bibliographic records (including abstracts). Older astronomy literature has been digitized, in many cases going back to the first issue of the journals, and is available in full-text versions. The physics literature goes back for varying periods depending on the collaborative partnerships.
ADS Labs showcases search tools with added functionality to the standard ADS services. Currently these are:
Streamlined Search is simple one-box search that allows for a combination of author, title, year, and keyword searches. Identifiers such as bibcodes, arXiv IDs and DOIs are recognized as well. Advanced search options allow users to specify the desired search criteria.
Alpha Fulltext Search is the experimental interface for searching the collection of electronic fulltext at ADS, the Digital Library for Physics and Astronomy. It allows searching the full text of the scanned literature in ADS as well as a select portion of the current astronomical literature, including ApJ, ApJS, AJ, A&A, MNRAS, PASP, the last 15 years of Icarus, and all of arXiv.org.
NDT.net - Database of Nondestructive Testing OPEN DATABASE
NDT.net is the publisher of the Open Access «Ejournal of Nondestructive Testing and Ultrasonics». They also provide e-proceedings for more than 100 international NDT conferences and NDT techniques. Everything is accessible via NDT.net's database search. In NDT.net's discussion forums you can interact with other colleagues.
NEBIS OPEN DATABASE
NEBIS is a network of more than 140 Swiss libraries with a total collection of about 7 million titles. Lib4RI's book collection and other media are listed in the NEBIS recherche catalogue and can be borrowed from registered users. Using the tab «Articles and more», the NEBIS recherche catalogue also allows searching the Primo Central Index containing more than 500 Mio electronic resources.
NIST Data Gateway OPEN DATABASE
The NIST Data Gateway provides easy access to many (currently over 80) of the NIST scientific and technical databases (list of free databases). These databases cover a broad range of substances and properties from many different scientific disciplines.
In order to access the
ACerS-NIST Phase Equilibria Diagrams Database please goto Phase Equilibria Diagrams Online.
Nucleonica OPEN DATABASE
Nucleonica allows user-friendly access to the latest reference data from internationally evaluated nuclear data. A unique feature is the wide range of web-based nuclear science applications. Also provided is a variety of social networking tools for scientific collaboration.
Access to Nucleonica is based on individual usernames and passwords. Accounts for full premium access can be created individually. Users have then their «own» files within Nucleonica i.e. their own personal desktop, nuclide mixtures, graphics files, application configurations files etc. Starting 2014, Nucleonica will be expanded by the Karlsruhe Nuclide Chart Online (KNCO) giving you latest experimental data for ground states and isomers, including decay schemes for selected nuclides. Existing users of Nucleonica are automatically upgraded to KNCO. New users should register for free access. Your accounts will then be upgraded such that you have premium access and additionally KNCO access.
OAister OPEN DATABASE
OAIster aggregates records from open-archive collections worldwide (citations with linked full-text). It includes about 23 million records representing digital resources from more than 1,100 contributing collections. The records available via OAIster lead to a wide range of materials and include theses, research papers, digitized books, journal articles, newspapers and manuscripts. You can search by title, author/creator, subject, language or the entire record.
OECD iLibrary OPEN DATABASE
OECD iLibrary contains all the publications and datasets released by OECD (Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development), International Energy Agency (IEA), Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA), OECD Development Centre, PISA (Programme for International Student Assessment), and International Transport Forum (ITF) since 1998 – over 1,200 journal issues, 3,300 working papers, 2,900 multi-lingual summaries, 7,700 e-book titles, 16,000 tables and graphs, 25,000 chapters and articles, and 480 complete databases with more than 4.5 billion data points.
Statistical data can be downloaded in various formats, e.g. as .xls, .csv, or .ivt files. The search interface is available in several languages.
Oxford Bibliographies in Ecology OPEN DATABASE
This is an extensive, annotated bibliography of the most important concepts and ideas in ecology. Entries have been written and reviewed by scholars in the field. Each entry includes:
• A synoptic, narrative guide with recommendations to guide users through the citations that follow.
• A bibliography with annotations providing full context for understanding citations.
Each citation is linked to the full text (if available) via our link resolver «Get it at Lib4RI». DOIs for each cited journal article gives you further options to access the full text.
Oxford Bibliographies: Ecology is updated 3-times a year with 50-75 new entries per year.
P3 – SNSF research database OPEN DATABASE
The research database P3 contains data on all SNSF-approved research projects and on grants awarded by the SNSF under various funding schemes since 1975. As a special feature, P3 offers an extended search option across the three domains «Project», «Person» and «Publication». Filters can be used to further limit the search, e.g. according to funding scheme, discipline, university of higher education or period. The research database is updated on a daily basis. As soon as the SNSF transfers a grant for an approved project, the corresponding data are published in P3.
PANGAEA OPEN DATABASE
The information system PANGAEA is operated as an Open Access library aimed at archiving, publishing and distributing georeferenced data from earth system research. The system guarantees long-term availability of its content through a commitment of the operating institutions.
Most of the data are freely available and can be used under the terms of the license mentioned on the data set description. A few password protected data sets are under moratorium from ongoing projects. The description of each data set is always visible and includes the principle investigator (PI) who may be asked for access.
Perinorm OPEN DATABASE
Perinorm is integrated in Lib4RI's Standards Portal. Perinorm is a bibliographic database with information on the most important national, European and international standards and technical rules – currently over 1.5 million data sets [ list of included standards ]. The database is updated monthly.
For more information on standards available at Lib4RI please see www.lib4ri.ch > Resources > Standards..
Pesticide Properties Database (PPDB) OPEN DATABASE
The Pesticide Properties Database (PPDB) is a comprehensive relational database of pesticide physicochemical, toxicological, ecotoxicological and other related data. The database holds data for around 1,100 pesticides, 500 metabolites and 100 other related substances. It includes physicochemical (environmental fate), ecotoxicological and human health data, as well as information on approval status, EC Directive 91/414 status, chemical structure, classification, resistance properties, and branding/formulation information.
The data sources within the PPDB are referenced, and AERU have utilised a unique scoring system to express data confidence. Each item is given a score between 1 for low confidence (e.g. un-referenced figures) and 5 for high confidence (e.g. from EU product registration documentation). This ensures that users are fully aware of any limitations in the data, and can use it accordingly.
The PPDB is available in English, French, Spanish, Italian, Polish and Slovenian.
Phase Equilibria Diagrams Online OPEN DATABASE
The American Ceramics Society (ACerS) Phase Equilibria Diagrams Online Database
This database includes phase equilibria diagrams for about 25,000 compounds. The diagrams were originally published in the Phase Equilibria Diagram book series published by ACerS and the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST). The database provides access to all phase equilibria diagrams inlcuded in the book series in the last 60 years.
Please follow the installation instructions on the homepage to install the phase equilibria diagram viewer and make sure that you have the lastest version of Java installed on your computer.
Primo Central Index OPEN DATABASE
Primo Central Index (PCI) is a multidisciplinary index of scholarly materials. Recorded are primarily electronic books and magazine articles; depending on the source metadata or full text indexed. The PCI is offered from Ex Libris (via NEBIS) who receive the data from primary and secondary publishers, aggregators and open access collections. In the NEBIS Recherche portal, the Primo Central Index is used if the search query is performed via «Articles & more»
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses: Sciences & Engineering OPEN DATABASE
The database provides bibliographic information (including abstracts) for 2.7 million dissertations and theses on science and engineering from 1861 to the present. ProQuest Dissertations and Theses mainly covers dissertations and theses from North American Institutions plus a growing international coverage.
1.2 million full text dissertations are available for download in PDF format. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works.
PubMed OPEN DATABASE
PubMed is a bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, molecular biology and other life sciences. The database covers articles from more than 5,000 journals and has over 20 million citations going back to 1966. Many PubMed citations contain links to full text articles which are freely available, either from the publisher or as part of NCBI's PubMed Central collection. It also provides access and links to the integrated molecular biology databases included in NCBI's Entrez retrieval system. These databases contain DNA and protein sequences, 3-D protein structure data, population study data sets and complete genomes.
Reagent Chemicals OPEN DATABASE
Reagent Chemicals Online (ACS) includes general physical properties and analytical uses for all reagent chemicals, over 500 in all. Thirty-two new reagents and three new classes of standard grade reference materials are also available. In addition, the use of Inductively Coupled Plasma Mass Spectrometry (ICP-MS), which is recognized as the most powerful and flexible trance element technique, is now accepted as an analytical method. Other features include a CAS number index that links to the corresponding reagent, a separate index for standard grade reference materials (also fully “linkable”), updated atomic weights, frequently used mathematical equations, complete assay calculations with titer values, a tutorial on how to read a monograph, and detailed tables of contents introducing each section.
Science Citation Index OPEN DATABASE
The Science Citation Index (SCI) is a database of bibliographic data in combination with citation data. The citation analysis of around 3,800 mainly English-language journals from the fields of medicine, technology and science is the data source for the SCI. Journals covered by the SCI are a subset of journals covered by the Science Citation Index Expanded. According to Thomson Reuters, the producer of the index, “the SCI has been strictly limited to include only the highest ranked journals in each category and, as much as possible, the highest ranked journals from each country or region”. The SCI, first produced in 1965, was the original database for the Journal Citation Reports and the calculation of journal
impact factors but has been supplanted by the Science Citation Index Expanded. The list of included journals changes from year to year and the inclusion or exclusion of a journal is controlled by Thomson Reuters. Thomson Reuters announces criteria used in the evaluation of journals but this process is not entirely transparent.
Science Citation Index Expanded OPEN DATABASE
The Science Citation Index Expanded (SCIE) is a database of bibliographic data in combination with citation data. The citation analysis of more than 8000 mainly English-language journals from the fields of medicine, technology and science is the data source for the SCIE. The citation data in this database is the basis for the Journal Citation Reports (the Science Edition) and the calculation of journal
impact factors. In combination with the Social Sciences Citation Index, and the Arts & Humanities Citation Index the SCIE constitutes the Web of Science. In addition, the Conference Proceedings Citation Index became an edition of Web of Science in 2008. The list of included journals changes from year to year and the inclusion or exclusion of a journal is controlled by Thomson Reuters. Thomson Reuters announces criteria used in the evaluation of journals but this process is not entirely transparent.
SciFinder OPEN DATABASE
SciFinder is a bibliographic database for chemistry, biochemistry, chemical engineering and materials science. It provides access to the Chemical Abstracts database and to the nearly 9,500 journals indexed from 1907 to the present. Coverage includes technical reports, books, conference proceedings, dissertations, as well as patents from 50 patent issuing authorities around the world (complete list of sources). Links to full-text patents are also available in many cases. Special features allow users to search for information by drawing chemical structures or substructures, or by reaction, polymer and specific biosequence.
SciFinder training material can be found here.
Note that you must first register and create a personal SciFinder account to use this database. Please contact InfoServices to obtain a login ID and password.
Scopus OPEN DATABASE
Scopus is a large interdisciplinary bibliographic database. Scopus indexes more than 22,000 academic journals, conference proceedings, trade publications and book series. It also covers scientific web sources, including 25 million patents from 5 patent offices (US Patent and Trademark Office, European Patent Office, Japan Patent Office, World Intellectual Property Organization and UK Intellectual Property Office) and pre-print servers (e.g. ArXiv.org).
Guides, factsheets & training material can be found in the Scopus Resource Library.
Note that Scopus links papers together based on the references cited within the papers. This feature of the database allows the analysis of citations. Through a cited reference search, you can discover how an idea or innovation has been confirmed, applied, improved, extended, or corrected.
Want to use the Papers application from Mekentosj to search Scopus? To access Scopus from Papers, it requires that you configure it with our Scopus Account ID:
More infos about enabling access to Scopus from Papers are available here.
SDBS – Spectral Database for Organic Compounds OPEN DATABASE
SDBS is an integrated spectral database system for organic compounds, which includes six different types of spectra under a directory of the compounds. The six spectra are as follows: an electron impact Mass spectrum (EI-MS), a Fourier transform infrared spectrum (FT-IR), a 1H nuclear magnetic resonance (NMR) spectrum, a 13C NMR spectrum, a laser Raman spectrum, and an electron spin resonance (ESR) spectrum.
Social Sciences Citation Index OPEN DATABASE
The Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) is a database of bibliographic data in combination with citation data. The citation analysis of more than 2,600 mainly English-language journals from the social sciences is the data source for the SSCI. The citation data in this database is the basis for the Journal Citation Reports (the Social Sciences Edition) and the calculation of journal
impact factors. In combination with the Science Citation Index Expanded, and the Arts & Humanities Citation Index the SSCI constitutes the Web of Science. In addition, the Conference Proceedings Citation Index became an edition of Web of Science in 2008. The list of included journals changes from year to year and the inclusion or exclusion of a journal is controlled by Thomson Reuters. Thomson Reuters announces criteria used in the evaluation of journals but this process is not entirely transparent.
Social Science Research Network (SSRN) OPEN DATABASE
Social Science Research Network (SSRN) is devoted to the rapid worldwide dissemination of social science research and is composed of a number of specialized research networks in each of the social sciences. SSRN documented research from all areas of the social sciences. The publishing platform includes publications in scientific journals, but also numerous publications that have not yet been published (Working Papers). By creating an account, you can easily share and revise your research, view and download the latest research in your field and interact with thousands of scholars worldwide.
SpringerMaterials OPEN DATABASE
SpringerMaterials provides access to curated data about 3000+ physical and chemical properties of 250,000+ materials and chemical systems.
Data sources currently include the Landolt-Börnstein New Series, the Linus Pauling Files and specialized databases on thermophysical properties, polymer thermodynamics, adsorption isotherms, and 32,000+ substance profiles.
STAT-TAB OPEN DATABASE
STAT-TAB is the statistics database for Switzerland maintained by the Swiss Federal Statistical Office (BFS). Data on the current situation and development of the society, the economy and the environment in Switzerland is presented. STAT-TAB replaces Superweb, the former statistics database for Switzerland. Data is presented in multidimensional data sets (data cubes) with variables that can be interactively combined. The generated tables can be exported in various formats and re-used locally.
Swiss foreign trade statistics are available via the Swiss-Impex database: Swiss-Impex
Detailed data on several Swiss price indices are available as downloadable tables in .xls format in the
Preis-Boutiquen. Click here to see the login and password required to access these files.
Swissbib OPEN DATABASE
Swissbib is the metacatalogue of more than 800 Swiss libraries. It provides a simple, fast and comprehensive gateway to scientifc information.
Swisslex OPEN DATABASE
Most comprehensive legal database for Switzerland, providing access to more than 400,000 searchable full-text documents, including:
• Rulings of the Federal Court and the Federal Administrative Court
• Ruling of the Federal Criminal Court
• Rulings of various cantonal courts
• more than 50 legal journals
• Commentaries, monographs, commemorative writings and doctoral theses
You need a login and password to access the database. Please contact email@example.com if you are interested.
Swissreg OPEN DATABASE
The database is made available by the Swiss Federal Institute of Intellectual Property. It contains Swiss and European patents which are in force in Switzerland and Lichtenstein. This includes patents which are in force as well as patents which have been cancelled. Included are Swiss patents filed after January 1978 and European patents with effect in Switzerland after the number 00 000 001.
Treesearch OPEN DATABASE
Treesearch is a database of publications by scientists in the US Forest Service. Publications in the collection include research monographs published by the agency as well as papers written by USDA scientists but published by other organizations in their journals, conference proceedings, or books. There are currently more 35,000 publications in Treesearch, all of which can be downloaded in PDF format, making it the largest freely available collection of online forestry research in the world.
Treesearch lets you search listings by author, keyword, originating station or date. Keyword searches examine both the title and abstract. See the Help page for more information on how to use the search functions.
Trinkwasser aktuell OPEN DATABASE
Trinkwasser aktuell is a database that contains articles from specialists on the legal, technical and functional requirements for the production, distribution and evaluation of drinking water and the protection of drinking water resources. For Germany and the EU the legal documents dealing with drinking water are also included in the database. Furthermore, the database contains a large number of practical materials for the monitoring of drinking water by authorities or companies. The database is only available in German.
Help on the search in the database can be found here.
UNdata OPEN DATABASE
UNdata brings together official statistics produced by countries and compiled by United Nations data system, as well as estimates and projections. The domains covered are agriculture, crime, education, energy, industry, labour, national accounts, population and tourism. You can also find indicators such as Millennium Development Goals.
For nice visualizations using UNdata as a source see Progress: A Graphical Report on the State of the World and Gapminder.
UNESCO-Encyclopedia of Life Support Systems (EOLSS) OPEN DATABASE
EOLSS comprises nearly 600 book volumes of thematically organised, peer- reviewed state-of-the-art content. EOLSS is one of the largest community oriented encyclopedia creation projects of the world, with contributions coming from several thousand renowned scholars from more than 100 countries.
The main topic of EOLSS is science of sustainable development. The 21 component encyclopedias cover topics such as «Development and economic sciences», «Desalination and water resources», «Land use, land cover and soil sciences» and «Water sciences, engineering and technology resources». Natural and social sciences, humanities, engineering and technology, and management policies for sustainable use of life support systems are emphasized, together with issues of global change and their ecological, economic, social, ethical, cultural, and political dimensions.
Web of Science OPEN DATABASE
Web of Science's search portal contains multiple databases. By default it searches in all of the following databases:
Web of Science Core Collection | BIOSIS Citation Index | BIOSIS Previews | Derwent Innovation Index | Inspec | KCI-Korean Journal Database | Medline | SciELO
However, often you might just be interested in the Web of Science Core Collection (aka «ISI Journals») comprising journals and conference proceedings indexed in the Science Citation Index Expanded (SCIE), the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, the Social Sciences Citation Index, the Conference Proceedings Citation Index – Science, and the Conference Proceedings Citation Index – Social Science & Humanities. These indices cover more than 12,000 journals and 54 million articles.
Note that the Web of Science Core Collection links papers together based on the references cited within the papers. This feature of the database allows the analysis of citations. Through a cited reference search, you can discover how an idea or innovation has been confirmed, applied, improved, extended or corrected.
wiso Technik OPEN DATABASE
wiso Technik is a bibliographic database (including abstracts) and comprises five sources:
TEMA – Coverage includes mechanical and electrical engineering, electronics, information technology, materials, textile technology, medical technology, management and operational organization. The more than 4 million records include journal articles, conference proceedings, research reports, books and theses since 1968. CEABA – Literature about chemical engineering and biotechnology. ESTEC – Information system on environment, sustainability and its technical aspects. FOGRA – Information from the publishing and printing industry. INFODATA – Bibliographic Database on information sciences and related subjects. HOLZ References to literature about mechanical wood technology; mainly German literature.
Since 2015, we received no more update on this database.
WorldCat OPEN DATABASE
WorldCat is the world's largest network of library content and services. It includes the holdings for thousands of academic, public, special and national libraries worldwide.
WorldWideScience.org OPEN DATABASE
WorldWideScience.org is a global science gateway comprised of national and international scientific databases and portals. WorldWideScience.org provides real-time searching and translation of globally-dispersed multilingual scientific literature.
WorldWideScience.org was developed on behalf of the WorldWideScience Alliance, and is maintained by the Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI), an element of the Office of Science within the U.S. Department of Energy.